Elderberry wine

Put 3 gallons of water over the fire. Let boil then add 9 lb of white sugar. When this boils, add the white of one egg, well beaten. Let boil about 5 minutes then strain the white of egg off. Take from the fire and add 1 quart of Elder Blossoms picked from the stem and pressed hard in a qt cup when cold, add 3 tablespoons of lemon juice and one cake of yeast let stand for 6 days stirring every day then strain. Add 3 pounds of raisins. Let stand until December then it is ready to use. The wine should be made the same day the blossoms are picked. [From the collection of Mrs. W.M. Douglas, Kansas City, MO, c. 1918]

About cookbookmaven

The Cookbook Maven specializes in vintage cookbooks, food-related advertising ephemera and vintage home wares - especially product advertising cookbooks, appliance cookbooks and Betty Crocker cookbooks. You'll find a selection of these in my Cookbook Maven shop on Etsy, along with other fun and affordable vintage goods. Follow my blog to read more about collecting cookbooks, cooking and homemaking history plus hot picks from my shop!
This entry was posted in Cookbook Collecting, Handwritten recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Elderberry wine

  1. What a wonderful blog you have. I have enjoyed my stroll immensely. I subscribed and added you to my blogroll. You sold me hook, line and kitchen sink!

    • Thank you, Jackie! That means a lot coming from someone with such a beautiful blog and active following 🙂 It’s so wonderful to have you aboard – thanks for saying hello!

  2. Sounds so delicious. I missed the Elderflowers but am catching the Elderberries this year to try my hand at winemaking.
    I’ll be blogging my experience at http://www.aboutabode.com and will certainly be following your blog now I’ve found you!

    • Hi Helen, thanks for following the site! I got some interesting comments on the Elderberry Wine recipe on my Facebook page, including some help deciphering it. These old handwritten recipes are always a hit. I love finding them tucked into a cookbook. I’ve checked out your site as well & am looking forward to reading your posts. Thanks for saying hello. -Jennifer (aka Cookbook Maven)

Leave a Reply

